269 Ratings   –      Score : 8.6 out of 10

Feature Scorecard Summary

SEO  8.3

Keyword analysis  9.4

Backlink management   7.8

SERP ranking tracking  8.8

Page grader  7.9

Competitive analysis  8.9

Site audit / diagnostics  8.4

Site recommendations  7.8

Task management  7.2

SEO Channels  8.1

Local SEO  7.9

Social SEO  7.8

Mobile SEO  8.2

Global SEO  8.6

SEO Platform & Account Management   8.2

Multi-domain support  8.1

Integration with web analytics tools  8.3

 

SEMRush Reviews (1-23 of 269)

 

SEMRush is one of the best SEO tools out there

DECEMBER 18, 2019
Anonymous

Score 7 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SEMRush as campaign management and competitor analysis tool for our SEO campaigns at TLo Ventures. While I believe you can use it for research into PPC campaigns and competition there, we mainly use it for the organic side of things. There are many features of SEMrush and we do not nearly use them all, but the ones we focus on are the Projects (for tracking keyword visibility, site problems, link tracking), and then the standard keyword/domain research tools like the “Organic Research” tab (for looking at what keywords a domain ranks for or what domains rank for a keyword). If you ever hear of a website or keyword and want to get some basic ideas of volume, competition, difficulty, etc, SEMRush is great for that.

Pros and Cons

  • Competitive organic research. They do a great job of showing you what any website ranks for, what keywords they bid on in PPC, what ads they are showing display-wise, etc.
  • Organic keyword research. You can see related terms to a specific keyword and get estimated volume, historical volume trends, “difficulty” scores, etc.
  • Link analysis. They have a great suite of tools that find links to your website automatically, track links you currently have, and measure their “toxicity” levels, traffic volume, etc.
  • Tool organization/presentation. There are so many features and tools in their program (which is a great thing) but it really can be confusing sometimes. Remembering where you have to go to get a certain metric can be difficult.
  • Keyword/traffic volume accuracy. Some of the historical trends for keywords or domains seem off, especially when you compare a domain where you actually know the history. But that is an infamously difficult task.
  • Better explanations of some of their tools. Some give you explanations up front but then it’s hard to remember how to use each one.

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMRush is a great tool for any SEO campaign, especially if you are doing a lot of continued research on new keywords to target if you have competitors to beat, links to acquire or monitor, etc. You can have multiple projects at one time, so it’s great for a small to medium size agency that is managing multiple clients. There is a bit of a learning curve with it, but if you get in there and use it frequently, it provides a lot of value.

 

SEMrush

SEMRush – a great tool for your SEO toolbelt!

Anonymous

Score 7 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize SEMRush within our SEO toolbelt in our strategy team, in addition to tools like Moz and Screaming Frog. We utilize SEMRush to strengthen our SEO audits and track the ongoing maintenance of an SEO strategy.

Pros and Cons

  • Continually innovating – there are so many new enhancements on a continually basis.
  • So many of the tools help support a robust content strategy that enhances SEO.
  • The Log File analyzer is coming in handy more and more!
  • Sometimes I find it hard to navigate the UI
  • I wish the graphs were more customizable.

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMRush is a fantastic tool whether you are doing a basic audit, in-depth research or continual monitoring.

SEMRush Review

DECEMBER 12, 2019
Anonymous

Score 9 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The tool is used to track and monitor ask the ongoing search engine optimization efforts as well as the future keyword research needed to keep up with the current trends. It solves the problem of tracking this with endless spreadsheets. There are also ways to sort your projects so you know what you are tracking where.

Pros and Cons

  • Tracking.
  • Research.
  • Better UI.
  • Easier collaboration without buying more seats.

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a large content plan for your website, you need something like this tool. If you don’t get a tool like this, you’ll be stuck and bogged down while others, and competition, zoom ahead of you. It’s one of the standard-bearers in the market and it’s updating their functions often.

SEMrush

An Essential Tool for SEO Website Audits

DECEMBER 06, 2019
Anonymous

Score 9 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, we use SEMRush primarily for keyword and competitive research. I use it on behalf of a couple of different clients to help identify keyword phrases for which they rank a few pages into Google, but have the opportunity with some SEO work to move up in the rankings. Also, I use it to determine what organic and PPC keywords their top competitors are ranking for and bidding on.

Pros and Cons

  • Keyword discovery: finding high-potential keyword phrases to focus on organic SEO efforts.
  • PPC planning: finding opportunities for advertising keywords and seeing what competitors are doing in paid search.
  • Competitive research: discovering what organic and paid keywords top competitors are focusing their effort on.
  • Support responsiveness: I’ve been waiting for a call back on an issue (fortunately non-urgent) for several days now.
  • Function clarity: the product has lots of features, but it isn’t always clear exactly what information is being reported.
  • Pricing: it would be nice if there were a lower pricing tier for infrequent/light users.

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMRush is excellent as part of an SEO or digital marketing audit. It helps site owners who’ve not previously done an analysis like this know what keywords their site is ranking, identify keyword opportunities to focus on, and understand what top competitors are doing in terms of both organic and paid search campaigns.

SEMrush

The best tool for digital marketing companies and businesses.

NOVEMBER 26, 2019
Anonymous

Score 10 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SEMRush is a very powerful and magic tool for digital companies. With the help of SEMRush, you can identify the overall view of the websites, for example, their traffic, domain rating, competitors, etc., and it provides reports by which we can keep good health of our websites. SEMRush has gained worldwide popularity with its performance and providing the best results to the users.

Pros and Cons

  • SEMRush is a simple and easy to use tool where you can do audits, keyword research, page metrics, etc.
  • The suite of SEO tools is incredible as well, which helps to boost your traffic.
  • You can set up projects, receive notifications, report to clients, and more.
  • The only thing I don’t like about the SEMRush is their traffic predictions.
  • They provide a response in 1-2 days, which is a significant drawback.
  • They should allow some more functionalities for users to experience in an effective way.

Likelihood to Recommend

I use SEMRush for my daily basis for doing SEO audits and to maintain my website. All the SEO audits like keyword research, and competitor analysis makes my job easier to target my competitors. Semrush also provides how to fix bugs, which is very helpful for a non-technical person to understand. Google ads can be done better by using a SEMRush analytics report to generate better ROI.

SEMrush

Great for beginners to advance users

JANUARY 24, 2020

Anonymous

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, I am the only one using SEMRush for my company. It’s a great platform that puts everything into perspective. I know all my problem areas and quickly understand how to fix it. This tool is generally user-friendly as long as you know the basics. It’s very comprehensive and continually has updates.

Pros and Cons

  • Comprehensive dashboard
  • Drill down analytics
  • Not a fan of the Chrome extension. Doesn’t give me a clear understanding of linkable pages and page strength,
  • Brand monitoring is a great idea, but I continuously get the wrong info, so I stopped paying attention to it.

Likelihood to Recommend

I genuinely believe SEMRush is the only tool you ever need if you work on the website. It has everything and is continuously updating its feature list. I trust this company a lot and know that not only the feature set will be richer, but the quality of this platform is continuously going to be improving. The training was quick and easy, and best of all, free.

SEMrush

If you can only afford one tool, get this one! (But don’t expect too much from any one feature)

NOVEMBER 11, 2019
Anonymous

Score 7 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SEMRush on the Search team, and it’s most useful while developing the initial target keyword list to use for SEO and even paid search. The Top Organic Keywords tool is the one I use most frequently, and it is a great way to see what’s working and what isn’t.

Pros and Cons

  • The Top Organic Keywords list is the well I keep returning to in order to find keywords we can perform better for.
  • The Competitors tab offers a great visualization for who the real competitors are—clients often think they know who their competitors are, but this tool helps me show them who their “real” competitors are, at least in terms of the website and keywords.
  • The Keyword Magic Tool is a great way to find similar keywords to your target, especially the Broad Match—this is great for paid search keyword ideas.
  • Some places in the platform, SEMRush uses their own jargon and they don’t fully explain what it means—for example on the Anchor Types widget of the Backlink Audit, it shows a chart of how many links are “Money, Compound, Naked, Empty, etc.” It explains Money, but none of the other ones.
  • The Keyword Magic tool is good, but it’s still quite a literal tool—it would be a lot to ask, but I wish the tool was able to be more like the semantic search that Google uses now (e.g. synonyms, rather than just phrases including the word you input).
  • I’m not so sure about the Traffic Insights—I always find that the traffic figures are drastically different from what I see in GA. It seems like it does more harm than good to even have such estimates available.

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMRush is excellent for keyword research and compiling lists of potential targets. It’s also good for discovering the most relevant search competitors. I do fear that it’s trying to do a little too much though, as it’s not quite as good as Moz for keyword tracking, not anywhere near as good as GA for traffic insights, and not as good as Screaming Frog for crawling. It does everything competently, but nothing outstanding, which makes me use it infrequently.

SEMrush

One of the first tools we use when working with a new client

NOVEMBER 07, 2019
Anonymous

Score 10 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SEMRush in a variety of our SEO research. It’s one of the first programs new team members learn and is used organization-wide. One of its best uses at our organization is in the field of keyword research; it’s great for seeing what terms a website we don’t own is ranking for and for checking out what keywords are related to other keywords. When we’re starting a new project and want to get familiar with a client’s site competitors or the words related to their company, SEMRush is one of the first tools we pull out.

Pros and Cons

  • Excellent for in-depth keyword research.
  • Great for checking out stats and query rankings related to sites you don’t own.
  • Great for seeing how a site has ranked over time (for problem-solving purposes).
  • The seating system is inconvenient; I wish multiple users could be logged in to one account at one time.
  • Overwhelming for new users.
  • Lack of data for smaller and newer sites or more niche keywords.

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMRush is an asset in our team and I can’t imagine us ever switching because it has such a multitude of uses.
One of its best uses is for feeling out the current health of a website, as well as its competitors and query ranking statistics. It gives us a great “overall view” of a client’s site health at a glance. It doesn’t hold your hand, though, so perhaps not the best solution for someone brand new at SEO.

SEMrush

SEMRush: probably my favorite SEM tool & inexpensive

NOVEMBER 07, 2019
Anonymous

Score 10 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SEMRush is being used by the organization primarily within the marketing department. Our technical marketing employees, content writers, and international marketing heads like to use the tool. There is a wide array of users that find value in SEMrush. It helps us measure our reach and performance, our competitors’ strategy and performance, gaps in our existing strategy, and identify opportunities for our content and messaging. Mainly it all boils down to our brand awareness, traffic to our website, trust-building in the market, and all of this drives users down the funnel to a buying decision.

Pros and Cons

  • Easily identify content gaps compared to competitors and allows additional drill-down and prioritization with advanced filters.
  • Reliable keyword search volume data and difficulty-to-rank metrics.
  • Performance tracking – keyword rank tied to specific pages and potential traffic impacts.
  • Keyword search trends over time. This is an interest of c-suite to see where the market is going or trending.

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMRush is one of the few SEO/SEM tools that I actually use! I had inherited a similar tool in the past and honestly didn’t see the value. SEMRush is easy to use, reliable, and makes my life easier. I can quickly determine the keywords we should be using and the content topics we should be writing about. And easily monitor our performance along the way and compare to our competitors.
SEMrush

Great for Organic Needs

OCTOBER 24, 2019
Anonymous

Score 8 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We’re a small agency team, and about half of us use SEMrush on a near-regular basis. We primarily use it to optimize content and web page copy, track ranks of several businesses, and do competitive analyses. Another helpful tool is the topic research, which heavily drives the topics for content creation.

Pros and Cons

  • The organic rankings analysis is really effective – for example, we did a quick audit of a potential client’s website and learned that their primary organic competitor for their target keywords was another domain that they owned. They were actually competing against themselves because they built different websites under separate domains for two different products. This insight eventually won their business.
  • Again, an organic analysis feature: the ‘difficulty’ of a keyword compared to its CPC. It’s a stat of how likely you’re able to get your keyword onto the top page after a year of SEO efforts. I like this because if the client’s budget can’t afford expensive Google Search keywords, we can focus our efforts on ranking organically.
  • The topic research is great for sourcing 3rd party content but also finding topics for future blogs. By understanding a) commonly asked questions around topics and b) the types of content already ranking well for those keywords, we can better optimize our future content to rank.
  • Supposedly, there’s a feature in SEMrush that lets you see what keywords your competitors are bidding on, or what their search ads may look like. I’ve never gotten this feature to work for me – I do recall that they only let you see ‘national’ campaigns, which I don’t really understand – but this may be why I can’t get any insights in this area.
  • The estimated web traffic of a given website seems like an awesome tool for competitor insights. However, when I compare it to the traffic numbers I have in Google Analytics, it’s VERY off. This makes me not want to trust their estimated numbers for my competitors/websites I can’t see Analytics.

Likelihood to Recommend

Generally, I find SEMrush great for organic insights, but not great for paid search insights and some of the competitor-peeking features.

SEMrush

Rush to SEMRush before it’s too late

OCTOBER 16, 2019
Anonymous

Score 7 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use SEMRush for me as well as my clients. It is a perfect platform for me to know who the competitors are and the output of my own SEO activities.

Pros and Cons

  • It lets me check my website traffic sources precisely.
  • Location, age, gender, etc. everything about my website visitors is available to me whenever I need.
  • It is an easy to use analytics software.
  • The free version should at least be available all of the time instead of the daily limit which is set to 10 days only.
  • All the keywords are not included in a report. I find that I sometimes still have to run manual searches within Google to see the ranks of specific keywords or keyword phrases.
  • The amount spent on ads is not accurate.

Likelihood to Recommend

Being able to see which keywords are driving users to a specific domain is invaluable, but I feel that accurate results are mandatory too!

SEMrush

SEMRush… when you know how to use it, it works

SEPTEMBER 18, 2019
Anonymous

Score 6 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SEMRush to monitor and adjust the usability of our company website in order to preserve the flow for those who search for us and our long-time users. It allows us to see where we rank in the searchability and how easy it is to use our website. It identifies broken links and repetitive links or pages on our website.

Pros and Cons

  • Tracks the broken links
  • search-ability factoring
  • ease of use for the website
  • Huge learning curve
  • not the most user friendly of products
  • hard to understand formatting

Likelihood to Recommend

It is great for finding out how your website search results rank. Great for finding broken links and repetitive issues on websites. Not good for beginners.

 

SEMrush

More SEO tools than you ever thought you needed

JULY 29, 2019
Anonymous

Score 9 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The whole company is using it (we’re a small team of two, with several contractors). We primarily use the SEO audit tool, position tracker, keyword magic tool, link building tool, and backlink tool. Also, the SEMrush Google docs add-on (that you can only have if you have a paid subscription to SEMrush) called “SEO Writing Assistant” has been super helpful for my content team. We use all of these solutions to analyze and address SEO issues with our clients’ websites, and also to inform their content marketing campaigns through keyword and competitive research.

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use. Hands down, SEMrush is easier to pick up and use than alternatives like Screaming Frog.
  • Robust. There are so many options and tools within SEMrush that it would probably take years to master them all.
  • Reporting. SEMrush offers a ton of automated reports that they’ll send straight to your inbox, but they also have a report creation tool that you can use to make branded reports to send to your own clients. It’s a drag and drop tool that functions a lot like a website builder, with different “widgets” that show different data.
  • Tutorial and learning content. Because SEMrush is so huge, it can be frustrating to want to use a tool and not be able to find high-quality reference material on using it. I wish they’d invest a little more in their blogs and video tutorials so users could quickly and easily get the most out of the program.
  • Price. I pay $200/month in order to be able to service about 5-8 client projects simultaneously – it feels a bit steep for me, since I’m not using every single tool within the suite. It would be nice if there was some way to only pay for the tools you use.

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMrush is great for SEOs and marketing/advertising agencies whose clients need in-depth SEO information. It’s also great for bigger companies who have the budget to invest in SEO and want a solution that encompasses tons of different marketing and PR tools.

SEMrush

Best for Digital Marketing Professionals

OCTOBER 22, 2019
Anonymous

Score 10 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used SEMRush to identify paid and organic tactics of competing brands as I have the option to compare their advertising approaches and strategies. It could show all the search and display ads either in any keyword/phrase level and as well as competitors’ website level which helped me to a lot to identify our paid competitors. It’s really amazing.

Pros and Cons

  • Best Competitors’ Spy Tool
  • Display Ads Finder Tool
  • Good Long-tail Keywords Finder
  • Compare Several Sites Together
  • Sometimes the data is not accurate
  • Personally feel its a bit expensive than other tools
  • Inaccuracy calculation in website visits (I agree still no tools perfect to identify exact traffic of third party websites)

Likelihood to Recommend

It’s well suited for companies who need to start their digital marketing journey as it gives a clear picture of your competitors’ metrics on Google searches.
SEMrush

SEMrush is essential and awesome to rank!

MAY 10, 2019
Anonymous

Score 10 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SEMrush is used to solve daily life problems regarding our websites! It solves problems when it comes to helping websites to rank!

Pros and Cons

  • Affiliate marketing
  • Ability to spy on the competition
  • Analytics
  • Site audit
  • The Outreach feature that integrates not only with Gmail.
  • A cheaper plan with fewer features but more affordable.
  • Traffic analytics available for all the paying users.

Likelihood to Recommend

It helps to get websites to rank on Google by taking advantage of a huge amount of data from other websites. It is impossible to think about living without SEMrush nowadays.
SEMrush

Track Results and Prove Value to Clients with SEMRush

NOVEMBER 06, 2019
Anonymous

Score 9 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work for an internet company, so understanding SEO and SEM is of extreme value to us. While our core competency and product delivery has been website design and development for nearly 20 years, we’ve recently made a huge push toward digital marketing for clients. As the digital strategist on the team, it’s necessary for me to be able to track SEO progress, competitors, etc. This tool is only used by our digital marketing team.

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to crawl every tiny detail of a website is great. Not only that, but SEMRush breaks down problems by Errors, Warnings, and Notices. By prioritizing technical issues and content needs, it makes it very easy to know where to start optimizing a site.
  • The competitor analysis feature in SEMRush is extremely robust. In fact, we switched to SEMRush from another program specifically for how robust the competition feature is.
  • SEMRush covers a wide range of needs. If you need social media insights and a tool to schedule content, this does it. If you need comprehensive website audits, it does that too. From keyword tracking to backlink audits, this tool has everything.
  • The report builder feature is extremely helpful. It allows you to drag and drop certain features from your project and build out a report.
  • Since several areas of SEMRush are still in the Beta phase, it can be quite buggy at times. However, their customer service team is very quick to respond and resolve any bugs you find.

Likelihood to Recommend

If you need to audit backlinks, this tool does it. If you want to analyze your keywords and assess content page by page, it does that too. Essentially, any need you run into in the digital strategy world, SEMRush has a solution. It can be time-consuming, as the learning curve is pretty steep. But it’s an excellent resource.

SEMrush

SEMRush and why you freaking need it!!!!

OCTOBER 24, 2019
Anonymous

Score 10 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SEMRush is being used at my organization both internally and externally. We use it in-house to analyze our company’s SEO analytics, crawl our website for potential improvements or optimization recommendations, and use it for keyword research and compilation. We use this keyword research for both specific content pieces and the website as a whole. Externally, we use this in a variety of ways for a variety of clients. We use it to create projects for each specific client and then dive into a variety of modules that analyze their SEO, keywords and website analytics, providing us a baseline for our improvements and recommendations backed by data.

Pros and Cons

  • Keyword groupings
  • Keyword discovery tool based on other keywords
  • SEO analytics for pages & entire websites
  • Provides website optimization recommendations
  • Recommends meta-data improvements
  • Tracks competitors
  • Some modules require a connection to a Google account, offer these features without Google integrations.

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMRush is fantastic for all things keyword and SEO related. It does a fantastic job of identifying keywords for an entire company or website. It shows what keywords have improved, have current success, have lost success, and are being used by your competitors. It helps recommend improvements for meta-data and analyzes your website for crawl-ability issues. SEMRush is great for both internal use but also is great for client use as it saves time by breaking them up by specific projects.

SEMrush

The best SEO tool that brings all of your data sources together

MARCH 29, 2019
Anonymous

Score 10 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SEM rush for our own marketing and for our clients as well. We have two main uses for it:

1. Website Audits + Remediation:
When we need to determine site health and also any errors, warnings, or broken links that need to be remediated, we use SEMrush’s tools that connect to Google Analytics and Search Console.

2. SEO / Keyword Research + Reporting:
SEMrush’s tool that shows us our position rankings for keywords we’re tracking is really valuable. We upload a list, typically around 100-3– keywords and phrases and then SEMrush can tell us where we currently rank for them. It also lets us know where our competitors rank for those same keywords and how we compare to them against those words/phrases over time. Then, we can take those numbers and build them into project reports that can be branded and organized into PDFs for our own internal meetings and/or to send to our clients.

Pros and Cons

  • Website Health Audits.
  • Keyword Positioning/Rankings.
  • Competitor Research and Analysis.
  • Creating multiple projects for each of our clients so we can track their sites, competitors, and keywords individually.
  • I’d like to see better, more customizable dashboard widgets.
  • Pricing based on how many keywords are being tracked is not a great model.
  • I’d like to see reports take into account both mobile and desktop collectively, instead of keeping them separate.

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a site that you’re actively updating and driving traffic to, you need a tool like SEMrush. It makes sure that I can see where warnings/errors are popping up and tells me how to remediate them. It also shows me how I’m doing for the keywords I’m tracking–and how I stack up against my competitors for them. It also is the best overall software I’ve seen for SEO, with the ability to integrate with Google Analytics & Search Console. Its price is validated by just keeping me out of Google’s platforms, but it goes further by allowing me to customize the data I see and the reports I create. There are probably plenty of features I’m not even using yet that would make this platform more valuable to our organization, like social media, advertising, backlink, and brand tools.

SEMrush

Great for Mid and Large Size Agencies

MARCH 27, 2019
Anonymous

Score 8 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SEMRush primarily for keyword research and tracking, site audits, and reporting. The system is used company-wide, from the SEM department to the Account Management team. Its ease-of-use and report readability are key reasons why we use the platform.

Pros and Cons

  • Site audits: This feature quickly identifies issues and deficiencies found on our client’s websites so that we implement fixes to correct the issue(s).
  • Keyword tracking: This feature is great for letting us know what keywords are and aren’t performing well for our client’s site(s) vs. the competition.
  • Reporting: Reports are quick and easy to pull, and simple for the client to read and understand even if they have limited technical knowledge.
  • The UI isn’t the most aesthetically pleasing, but despite that, the platform is still pretty easy to navigate.
  • Each user needs to have their own login, as logins cannot be shared. If a user is logged in with an account and someone else also logs in with that same account, the original user is kicked out. This seems backward to me, as I feel it would be more logical to just let the second user know that the account is not available for use. With the current setup, the original user gets booted from the system while they’re in the middle of a task with no warning.
  • It doesn’t play nice with subdomains. We have some foreign language clients where the non-English site is a subdomain of the English site, and the system doesn’t know how to correctly report on these sites.

Likelihood to Recommend

The platform is fantastic, but it is a bit on the pricier side. I would recommend it for mid- to large-sized agencies, but it may be out of the price range for smaller agencies.

SEMrush

Our traffic has gone up by leaps and bounds. Great features. Clear ROI.

APRIL 12, 2019
Anonymous

Score 8 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SEMrush is the core of our inbound marketing efforts. Using SEMrush, we do competitive research as well as in-depth analysis of our own site and content. SEMrush lets us see our site in ways we simply can’t on our own. It helps us understand our own search visibility, our day to day performance in SERPS, and the risks we face.

Pros and Cons

  • Keyword research is the core of SEMrush, and it guides our content development.
  • Competitor research lets us see what our competition is doing, and turns that into actionable ways for us to step up our game.
  • Risk analysis is a big part of what SEMrush does. With “dirty” backlinks being an increasing problem, SEMrush tells us where the risks are, and it also helps us clean up our act.
  • Too much fear-mongering. They often send cheesy and alarming emails evaluating your risk as “high,” banking on the fear factor to keep subscribers subscribing, which just isn’t necessary. The whole disavow thing is so 2015. Please let it die. The fact that SEMrush is using this to sell subs is really not the best thing. I wish they wouldn’t do it.
  • SEMrush is very, very big. A little more hand-holding upfront would have been nice.

Likelihood to Recommend

I think SEMrush is vital for any small business who cares about their web presence, and for whom inbound traffic represents a big part of their marketing efforts. SEMrush has enabled us to grow our traffic by at least 300% over the past 2 years, and we’re still growing.
Mostly what we use SEMrush for is content planning based on keyword traffic data. By understanding what keywords bring in the most traffic, we can intelligently plan our posts to maximize inbound traffic and go for the sweet spots in search results.
SEMrush

An SEO Specialist’s Perspective

DECEMBER 04, 2018
Anonymous

Score 8 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for our Earned Media/SEO department specifically. We use it to perform keyword research and perform competitive analyses.

Pros and Cons

  • Keyword research, ideation, and organization (with the Keyword Magic tool). The way this tool works really helps with our own internal process too
  • Process support – meaning it’s very easy to incorporate SEMRush’s various tools into a team’s process. We are a new team and still building processes and find the workflows within SEMRush to be intuitive and helpful in building our team’s processes
  • Competitive information – there are a lot of ways to dive into competitive research, which is great because that’s always a big question from clients and from our team as well- what are competitors doing, how are they doing, etc.
  • I wish there was a way to upload a list of keywords you already have and see search volume, etc. This can be achieved through Site Audit or Projects (forget the exact terminology) but it’s clunky to do it that bc there’s a lot of other things you have to fill out
  • I just need to explore the features more, honestly! I know I’m not using SEMRush to its fullest potential

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMRush is probably most useful for performing audits, especially during the sales process. Although we still use it for our ongoing clients, it seems less suited for retainer clients within an agency (where there are many clients). It seems to work much more “one-off” versus being able to wrap up a bunch of information for a client and save it.
SEMrush

SEMRush: The Marketing Wizard

NOVEMBER 28, 2018
Anonymous

Score 10 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I currently use SEMrush to conduct Keyword Research for blog articles and other content that our Marketing team is thinking of creating. Marketing is the only department that uses the platform. SEMrush helps us create content that is popular within our audience, and find certain keywords to use that will help make our content more robust/searchable. Additionally, I use SEMrush to conduct Site Audits, monitor our position tracking, and enhance our web pages via the On-Page SEO Checker tool. This platform has enhanced our visibility into areas that our content, website, and advertisement can improve.

Pros and Cons

  • SEMrush’s various “toolkits” provide you with exceptional tools in SEO, Advertising, Social Media, Content Marketing, and Competitive Research. These toolkits allow you to gather real-time information and data that will help you develop your best / most advanced marketing strategy
  • The “Site Audit” tool lists out the number of errors, warnings, and notices on your website or blog page and provides instructions on how to fix these errors and why it is important to fix them. By working through this list, our website score has increased by 11% in the past week. We have increased the number of our healthy pages, increased crawl ability, and over-all increased our searchability.
  • I use the Keyword Magic Tool often to gather keyword insight. This tool also provides the ability to search by broad match, phrase match, exact match, and related, so I have access to all keywords that I may possibly need to build our most efficient campaign.
  • The SEO Content Template is helpful when trying to find out what content is already posted relating to a topic. I type in the set of keywords I want to use for a certain blog article, and the SEO Content Template tool generates a list of content published by my competitors, a list of semantically related keywords to target, and more. VERY HELPFUL TOOL.
  • The only downfall I really see with SEMRush platform is the amount of information you can gather. Sometimes I find myself going down a rabbit hole, or spending too much time focusing on one element of my keyword, competitor, or domain research. This platform can provide you with so much information you may feel you don’t know where to begin!
  • In my personal opinion, I think SEMrush could improve on their training videos. I felt that the videos immediately started as if the audience was already familiar with the terminology and tools that we would be using. For a newcomer, the videos may be confusing until you start to play around on the platform yourself.
  • I don’t have a third example of improvement. The tools provided have been very helpful, and I look forward to enhancing my research/marketing skillset with this platform.

Likelihood to Recommend

SEMRush has allowed me to monitor our main company website health, website visibility, social media engagement, and view our web mentions. On a daily basis, I access the SEMRush platform and work through their list of “SEO ideas” that are affecting our website score. I enjoy monitoring our improvement and seeing how we compare in organic searches to our competitors. Prior to using SEMRush, our team would write articles for any topic we felt would be beneficial to our audience. With SEMRush, we are able to conduct keyword research and competitor research prior to writing, to see which topics/ keywords are highly searched and what content is already published from our competitors.

SEMrush

Best All-in-One Digital Marketing Tool

FEBRUARY 19, 2019
Anonymous

Score 10 out of 10

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is a great way to research the digital landscape of a business’s competitive landscape and vertical. The more information we can get the more we can share with potential clients and current clients. Market research is fundamental for marketing, and this is perfect for digital marketing research.

Pros and Cons

  • Website, competitive, and keyword research
  • Reporting (white label option)
  • Weekly automated reporting
  • Interface
  • Manage clients (projects as it’s called)
  • Slightly stronger GUI for the Lead Generation Tool

Likelihood to Recommend

If someone is beginning in SEO, this is perfect. You can do multiple domains and link analysis, find competitors, research them, easy keyword research, and a lot more from just one tool! Reporting is beautiful, it is easy to show clients how their site is moving, you can also do website audits and monitor social media.
 
SEMrush

SEMRush Scorecard Summary

Ratings and Reviews

269 vetted SEMRush reviews and ratings

Company Size

  • Small Businesses (131)
  • Mid-size Companies (105)
  • Enterprises (20)

By Topic

  • Pros and Cons (60)
  • Feature Ratings (60)
  • Likelihood to Recommend (60)
  • Return on Investment (60)
  • Use Cases and Deployment Scope (60)
  • Alternatives Considered (56)
  • Other Software Used (53)
  • Support Rating (13)
  • Key Differentiators (2)
  • Products Replaced (2)
  • Usability (2)
  • Evaluation Lessons Learned (2)
  • Bug Resolution (1)
  • Difficult Tasks (1)
  • Easy Tasks (1)
  • Mobile Interface Availability and Impressions (1)
  • Users and Roles (1)

Industry

  • Accounting (2)
  • Animation (1)
  • Automotive (4)
  • Broadcast Media (1)
  • Building Materials (1)
  • Business Supplies & Equipment (1)
  • Commercial Real Estate (1)
  • Computer Software (21)
  • Construction (1)
  • Consumer Electronics (3)
  • Consumer Goods (4)
  • Consumer Services (3)
  • Education Management (4)
  • Electrical & Electronic Manufacturing (1)
  • Environmental Services (1)
  • Events Services (1)
  • Financial Services (7)
  • Food & Beverages (1)
  • Furniture (1)
  • Health, Wellness and Fitness (4)
  • Higher Education (1)
  • Hospital & Health Care (8)
  • Hospitality (3)
  • Information Technology & Services (12)
  • Insurance (2)
  • Internet (32)
  • Leisure, Travel & Tourism (2)
  • Management Consulting (3)
  • Marketing & Advertising (92)
  • Mechanical Or Industrial Engineering (2)
  • Media Production (1)
  • Medical Device (1)
  • Mental Health Care (1)
  • Music (1)
  • Non-profit Organization Management (1)
  • Online Media (2)
  • Printing (1)
  • Professional Training & Coaching (1)
  • Publishing (3)
  • Retail (5)
  • Security & Investigations (1)
  • Sporting Goods (1)
  • Staffing & Recruiting (3)
  • Telecommunications (3)
  • Textiles (1)
  • Transportation/Trucking/Railroad (1)
  • Wine and Spirits (1)
  • Writing & Editing (2)
  • Unknown (12)

Department

  • Corporate (13)
  • Customer Service (1)
  • Engineering (2)
  • Finance and Accounting (1)
  • Information Technology (5)
  • Marketing (176)
  • Other (6)
  • Professional Services (8)
  • Quality Assurance (1)
  • Research & Development (2)
  • Sales (6)
  • Social Media (3)

Job Type

  • Account Manager (6)
  • Administrative Assistant (1)
  • Administrator (6)
  • Analyst (13)
  • Board Member (1)
  • C-Level Executive (23)
  • Consultant (13)
  • Contributor (1)
  • Director (31)
  • Employee (16)
  • Executive (14)
  • General Manager (3)
  • Manager (42)
  • Partner (8)
  • Professional (12)
  • Program Manager (2)
  • Project Manager (4)
  • Strategist (18)
  • Supervisor (2)
  • Team Lead (6)
  • Technician (1)
  • Vice-President (1)

 

 

About SEMRush

SEMRush is a relatively popular search engine optimization toolset from the company of the same name based in Pennsylvania and founded in 2008. Largely the platforms rely on competitive intelligence and feature SEO staples like backlink checking, keyword analysis to refine SEO and PPC campaigning and locate low-cost/high-yield keywords, analysis of competitors who co-occupy desired ad and listing spaces, domain vs. domain analysis, as well as site audit and domain tracking.

SEMRush can be acquired for as little as $69.95 on a monthly basis (with a 7-day money-back guarantee in place of a free trial) with the Pro pack, up to $549.95 per month with the Business pack; features and tools are the same across tiers, only usage limits change. Discounts are available for an annual subscription. SEMRush boasts well-known users, like Forbes, Paypal, Wells Fargo, and many marketing agencies.

Categories:  SEO

SEMRush Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application: No